Derelict Vessels Act – Derelict vessel law sets up ‘DMV gantlet’ for thousands of Alaska mariners

A well-intended new Alaska law has gone awry from a botched roll out that has turned thousands of Alaskan fishing vessel, tender, barge and sport fish operators into lawbreakers. Since the start of 2019, all vessels over 24 feet are required to be registered with the State at a Department of Motor Vehicles office. Previously, vessels that were documented with the US Coast Guard were not also required to register with the state. The registration costs $24 and is good for three years. “You need to get down to the DMV whether you’re documented or not,” >click to read<09:39

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.